Our Intermediate footballers never reached their full potential when going under to a  better Kanturk side in the Co. Championship semi-final, at Charleville, last Saturday afternoon.  At the end of a somewhat one-sided hour’s football Kanturk qualified on the score 0-19 to 2-6, to meet Mitchelstown in the Final.  From the throw-in, Kildorrery struggled to contain their opponents who lofted over four points in quick succession in the opening nine minutes.  However, Kildorrery, in the tenth minute, had their opening score, after great work by Andrew and Peter O’Brien which led to a well-taken goal by James O’Sullivan.  Kanturk replied immediately  with a point before Shane O’Neill got through for Kildorrery’s second goal in the thirteenth minute to go into the lead for the first and only time in the game.  Back came Kanturk again, to level by the end of the quarter.  Kildorrery had to wait until the twenty-fifth minute for their next point from Shane O’Neill, by which time the winners had eleven points on the board.  Tom Monaghan, a point from a free and Shane Fitzgerald one from play left Kildorrery trailing by a mere two points at the break 2-3 to 0-11.  During this first half, Kildorrery had attack after attack broken up by a determined Kanturk rearguard, while they, on the other hand kicked over some fine long-range points.

After the restart, the winners went on to extend their advantage adding three more points to their tally, before substitute, Richie McEniry had Kildorrery’ s first point of the second  half at the end of the third quarter.  They had to wait another ten minutes for their next point, from  a free by Shane O’Neill.  It was now, 0-16 to 2-5. Shane had another from play while Kanturk went on to add three points before the end of the game, to run out deserving winners on the above score.  And, so ended our championship campaign for 2017.

Team and scorers:  Liam Kelly, Sean Kelly, EamonnO’Connor, Fintan Daly, Finbarr Stapleton, Cormac O’Baoill, Will Coffey, Shane Fitzgerald 0-1, Andrew O’Brien, James O’Sullivan 1-0, Peter O’Brien, Jerry McCarthy, Shane O’Neill 1-3 (0-1f), Tom Monaghan 0-1f, Stevie Coughlan.

Subs.  Darren McNamara for F.Daly. Richie McEniry 0-1, for J.McCarthy(inj.), Dylan Kent for W.Coffey, Wm. Fouhy for S.Coughlan,  Sean O’Sullivan for A.O’Brien.

Understandably, there is disappointment at the defeat, but a debt of gratitude is due to all our players and management for their effort and dedication all the year.  Go raibh mile maith agaibh agus beidh la eile ag an bPaorach!



Congratulations to our €12,000 Club lotto jackpot winner, Maurice Carroll, Ballyanihan.

Maurice is a prominent and popular member of the Club and his selected numbers of 9,11,17 & 20 were the numbers drawn when the fortnightly draw took place at Walsh’s Corner House, last Saturday night.

Three lucky dip winners of €50 each were:

1. Pat Aherne, Rockmills

2.  Tom Walsh, Scart

3. Willie Duggan, Hillcrest

The next draw will be held at Sheahan’s Hilltop Lounge, on Saturday October 14th. when the jackpot will be €1,000.



The official opening of the Club’s recently constructed spectator stand is scheduled to take place on Saturday week October 14th.  The Guest of Honour who will preside at the opening will be Uachtaran Cumann Luth-chleas Gael, Aoghain O Fearaoil.  The event is timed to begin at 5 p.m. and will be followed by a juvenile blitz.



At last Monday’s Club meeting a vote of sympathy was passed to Kathleen and Ned Dwane and family, Farahy, on the death of Kathleen’s uncle.  Ar dheis De go raibh a anam.


The Avondhu, 5th October 2017