Our Junior hurlers lost heavily to Shanballymore, when the sides met in the Division 3 league, at the home venue, on Wednesday evening, last week. The visitors ran out easy winners on the final score-line of 4-19 to 1-14. Our team management, who, for one reason or another, had difficulty in mustering a team, eventually had sixteen players.  From the throw-in, Shanballymore, looked the sharper side, dominating in most sectors during the opening half, at the end of which they led 3-9 to 0-5. Kildorrery began the second half in an improved fashion, sending over three points in quick succession. However, by the end of the third quarter, the visitors had rallied again and led 3-15 to 0-12. They went on to add 1-4 to their tally in the remaining quarter while Kildorrery could only manage 1-2.

Team and scorers: Sean Walsh, Tim Crowley, Fintan Daly, Anthony Palmer, James Magnier 0-3, Jerry McCarthy 0-2, Cathal Walsh-O’Grady, Sean O’Sullivan, Sean Kelly 0-1 , Billy Hedigan, Ciaran O’Connor, James Fox 0-1, Sean Young 0-6 fs, Dave Roche 1-0, David Harrington . Subs. Shane Landers 0-1, for T.Crowley. T.Crowley for C. Walsh O’Grady, C.Walsh O’Grady for J.McCarthy (inj.)



Unfortunately, this was the final score-line when our Intermediate hurlers played Kanturk in the Division 2 league, at the latter’s venue, last Sunday midday.

Team and scorers: Sean Walsh, Tom Monaghan, Shane Fitzgerald, Darren McNamara, Liam Kelly, Michael Walsh, Cormac O’Baoill, Sean Kelly 0-1, Stevie Coughlan, Jerry McCarthy 0-1, Peter O’Brien 0-4, James O’Sullivan, Finbarr Stapleton, Eamonn O’Connor 0-1, Shane O’Neill 0-1. Subs. Sean O’Sullivan for S. Coughlan, Billy Hedigan for J.McCarthy, Fintan Daly for J.O’Sullivan.



Saturday June 17 th . Intermediate Hurling Championship V St. Finbarr’s at Rathcormac 7.30 p.m. (to be confirmed)

Wednesday June 21 st . Junior football league V Grange at Kildorrery 7.30 p.m.



Now that the newly erected spectator stand is practically complete, except for some ancillary works, it might be worth reminding G.A.A. followers that a “Seat For Life”can be purchased and dedicated for just €100. If you wish to purchase please contact Club Cathaoirleach Dave Roche on 086 8684767.



Best wishes for their future happiness are extended to Club member and player, Jason Walsh and his bride Samantha Walsh who get married this Friday. Go n-eiri an t-adh libh.



The jackpot of €10,400 was not won when the Club’s fortnightly lotto draw took place at Sheahan’s Hilltop Lounge, last Saturday night.

The numbers drawn were: 2, 5, 23 and 26.

Three lucky dip winners of €50 each were :

1. Maurice Carroll, Ballyanihan.

2. John O’Brien, Mitchelstown.

3. Orla and Tom Lane, Ballynoulty.

The next draw will be held at Ollie’s Bar on Saturday June 24 th when the jackpot will be €10,600.



At a recent Club meeting votes of sympathy were passed to John McLoughlin, and family Limerick Road and to the Motherway family, Aghada on their recent bereavements. Ar dheis De go raibh anamacha na marbh.


The Avondhu,15th June 2017