This was the encouraging score-line when the final whistle was blown when our Intermediate hurlers hosted Watergrasshill in this Division 2 league game, on Tuesday evening of last week. As in their recent championship game, Kildorrery were forced to line out, with a somewhat experimental side. Nevertheless, as the final score-line indicates this was a most encouraging team effort and well deserving of the victory.

From the throw-in, Kildorrery got down to business and had three points on the board after five minutes. Watergrasshill opened their account from a free after seven minutes of play. They followed up with another point, a minute later, but at the end of the first quarter, Kildorrery led 0-4 to 0-2. Three minutes into the second quarter, Eamonn O’Connor after winning possession on the left wing cut through to place Peter O’Brien who first-timed the ball to the net, Watergrasshill replied with a point before Eamonn and Peter added a point each. On the thirtieth minute, the visitors forced a ‘65’ and in injury time, Peter O’Brien pointed a free to leave our boys ahead at the break 1-6 to 0-4.

After the resumption of play, the sides exchanged two points inside five minutes. At the end of the third quarter, the score-line read Kildorrery 1-10 Watergrasshill 0-7. Inside the last quarter, the winners added four points to their tally to Watergrasshill’s three and so ran out deserving winners on the above score.

Team and scorers: Sean Walsh, Tom Monaghan, Willie Coffey, Cormac O’Baoill, Shane Fitzgerald, Michael Walsh, Liam Kelly, Andrew O’Brien 0-1, Sean Kelly 0-2, Wm Fouhy 0-1, Peter O’Brien 1-9 (0-3fs), James O’Sullivan, Shane O’Neill, Eamonn O’Connor 0-1, Sean O’Sullivan. Sub. Jason Walsh for Sean O’Sullivan (inj.)



Despite putting in a determined effort, our Intermediate footballers lost this Division 4 league game to Castletownbere, at Cloughduv, last Friday evening. At the end of an fairly evenly contested first half, Kildorrery led at the break 1-9 to 0-11.

However, the concession of three second half goals put paid to their chances.

Team and scorers: Liam Kelly, Sean Kelly, EamonnO’Connor, Fintan Daly, Willie Coffey, Michael Walsh, Cormac O’Baoill, Andrew O’Brien 0-3, Jerry McCarthy 0-1, James O’Sullivan 1-1, Peter O’Brien 0-3, Shane O’Neill 1-1, Wm Fouhy 0-2, Tom Monaghan 0-3, Sean O’Sullivan 0-1.



There was no winner of the €10,000 jackpot, when the fortnightly draw took place at Ollie’s Bar, last Saturday night.

The numbers drawn were: 5, 8, 24 and 26.

Three lucky dip winners of €50 each were:

1. Tom Jackson, Quitrent

2. Evelyn Dunne, Graigue

3. Tony McCarthy, Ballyvisteen

The next draw will be held at Walsh’s Corner House, on Saturday May 27th, when the jackpot will be €10,200.



The quarterly draw took place at last Monday’s weekly meeting and resulted as follows:

1. €200. Michael McEldowney

2. €80. Tony McCarthy

3. €80. John and Marie Geary



We wish a full and speedy recovery to one of the stalwarts of our hurling and football teams, David Kelly, who recently underwent an operation on a knee injury.



At last Monday’s weekly meeting a vote of sympathy was passed to the husband, family and relatives of the late Anna Theresa O’Keeffe, Ballylough, on their recent bereavement.

Ar dheis De go raibh a h-anam.


The Avondhu,18th May 2017