Once again we had a large and enthusiastic gathering at the Club’s annual general meeting, when it was held in the Club hall, last Friday night. Outgoing Cathaoirleach, Dave Roche, who presided, welcomed the attendance and expressed his delight at seeing such interest being taken in the meeting. In the course of his address, he complimented all players who worn the Club colours during the year, in all grades. He referred particularly, to the Intermediate hurlers who had reached the championship Co. final where they, unfortunately, were defeated in a replay by Fr O’Neill’s . Nevertheless, he said they had given a great year to their legions of supporters and the Club was extremely proud of them. The only team to garner honours was the Minor hurlers who won the North Cork and Co Rebel Og League,a fine achievement in itself and one of which the Club was extremely proud. He referred to the Club players who had sustained serious injuries in games during the year and wished them all a speedy recovery. He concluded his address by thanking his fellow officers and various sub-committees for their help and co-operation during the year and wished the Club every success in the year ahead.

The report of Runai, Joe Sherlock, dealt in great detail with all aspects of the Club’s activities during 2016 . While no major honours had been won by the Club, the Minor hurlers had come up trumps once again, having won the Rebel Og league. The report also detailed the various league and championship games played by all the eight teams during the year. The eight teams had played a total of sixty games in league and championship.

Referring to the completion of the spectator stand, the report indicated that the contract for the completion of the stand has now been awarded, finance is in place and work will commence early in the New Year.

The continuing support for the Club’s fund-raising ventures, is greatly appreciated viz., Cork G.A.A. members’ draw, Club lotto, the Festival and the weekly bingo, both joint ventures with the local community development association, the 100 members’ draw. All are very important sources of income. Tickets are now on sale for a draw to be held in March 2017 for a pure bred Limousin heifer, kindly donated by Tom Jackson and a pure bred Vendeen sheep sponsored by Cheryl O’Brien. The third prize is a year’s animal food sponsored by Southern Milling Ltd, courtesy of Denis Fitzgerald.

The report concluded with an acknowledgement and appreciation of all the help afforded the Club by all members and supporters during the year and an expression of good wishes to all for the coming year.

The financial report submitted by outgoing Cisteoir, Willie Duggan, outlined in minute detail all aspects of the Club’s finances. Once again, the report revealed that despite huge outgoings during the year, the Club enjoyed a healthy credit balance. He extended his gratitude to the members of the various sub-committees and in particular t o Assistant Treasurer, Barry O’Connor for his unfailing help.

Club Uachtaran, Michael McEldowney, in his address to the meeting, paid tribute to the officers, players and managements for their loyalty and hard work. He congratulated the Intermediate hurlers on their achievement in reaching the Co. final and said it was his wish that the Intermediate Cup would be resting in Kildorrery at the end of next year.

Juvenile Club Cathaoirleach, Bernard Cronin, also addressed the meeting and thanked the parent Club for the encouragement and support.


Election of Officers:

Uachtaran: Michael McEldowney. Leas-Uachtarain: Andrew O’Dea, Tom Monaghan, Nicholas Hickey, Michael O’Keeffe, Pat Fenton, Eddie O’Connor, Tom Fox.

Cathaoirleach: Dave Roche. Leas Cathaoirleach: Pa Walsh.

Cisteoir: Willie Duggan. Cisteoir Cunta: Barry O’Connor.

Runai: Joe Sherlock. Runai Cunta: Peter Watson.

Claraitheoir: Liam O’Sullivan.

Oifigigh Arachais: Ned Dwane and Peter O’Brien

Oifigeach Cultura agus Teangan: Jason Walsh.

Teachtai Choiste Chorcai: Pat Fenton and Tony McCarthy.

Teachtai Choiste Chorcai Thuaidh: Pa Walsh and Tom Fox.

Oifigeach Chaidreamh Poibli: Nicholas Hickey.


Teams Affiliated:

Minor B Hurling and Football.

Under 21 B Hurling and Football.

Junior C Hurling and Football.

Intermediate Hurling and Football.


Team Management:

Intermediate football: Tony McCarthy.

Intermediate Hurling; Loughlin McGovern, Mike Monaghan.

Junior Football: John Gallagher and Dave Kelly.

Junior Hurling: Pat Fenton, Mike Monaghan, Tom Jackson.

Under 21 Football: Brian McNamara and Stevie Kent.

Under 21 Hurling: Dave Roche, Peter O’Brien and Pa Walsh.

Minor Football: John McCarthy and Tom Paul Murphy.

Minor Hurling: Willie Duggan.

The subject of Players’ Insurance provoked much discussion and the meeting was informed that the Club is experiencing severe difficulty in having outstanding claims paid. The subject will no doubt be discussed further, in the New Year.



The next club lotto draw will be held this Saturday night, at Walsh’s Corner House, when the jackpot will be €7,800.



The Club will hold a Table Quiz at Walsh’s Corner House on Thursday December 29th.



The next Club meeting will be held on Monday January 16th. 2017 and will be preceded by Mass for deceased members and benefactors, at 8 p.m.


The Avondhu, 8th December 2016