There was a large and enthusiastic attendance at the annual general meeting of the Club, when it was held, last Friday night. Outgoing Cathaoirleach, Tom Fox, welcomed those present and expressed his satisfaction at seeing the obvious interest in this important Club event. In the course of his address, he complimented all players who had worn the Club jersey during the year and said that while major honours had eluded their adult teams, the minor hurlers and footballers had made it a great year for the Club, winning North Cork championships in both codes; football league final and reaching Co. football championship final, only to be defeated by Ballingeary, after a tremendous game, in testing conditions. He paid tribute to the various sub-committees, selectors, coaches, physio and of course, the juvenile club officers and all associated with the management of juvenile teams. He complimented the players who had represented the Club on the Avondhu Senior teams and made special mention of Shane O’Neill, who had earned a place on the Cork Minor football panel. Concluding, he said that while he was now standing down at the end of his three-year term as Cathaoirleach, he considered it an honour to have served as an officer and thanked his fellow officers, members and supporters for their help and co-operation during the past three years and wished the Club every success in the future. He was the recipient of numerous plaudits from the floor.

The report of Runai, Joe Sherlock, dealt in great detail with all aspects of the Club’s activities during the past year. Referring to the success of the minor hurlers and footballers he said 2015 had been a special year. While no other honours had been achieved by the Club, great strides had been made in the development of the Club grounds. The completion of the viewing stand is a top priority and “currently the Scope of Works and Tender
Documents is being prepared with a view to inviting tenders within the next two weeks and finance-enabling phase in January 2016”.

The report also detailed the various league and championship games by the eight Club teams. He concluded with a “thank you” to his fellow officers and members for their help and support during 2015 and good wishes to all for 2016.

Outgoing and long-serving Cisteoir, Willie Duggan, delivered his report in his own inimitable manner outlining in minute detail all aspects of the Club’s finances. The report revealed that despite huge outgoings during the year, the Club enjoyed a healthy financial state. He extended his gratitude to the various sub-committees and said a special word of thanks was due to Assistant Treasurer, Barry O’Connor, for his unfailing help at all times.

The Club’s main sources of income continue to be the fortnightly lotto, Cork G.A.A. Clubs’ Draw, the 100 club members’ draw, the annual Festival held in conjunction with the local Community Development Association and in recent months, the weekly Bingo sessions also held jointly with the C.D.A. However, the Club’s participation in the Cavanagh’s of Fermoy Car Draw for which we qualified by winning the 2014 Div. 3 league, was a huge source of revenue.

Both reports were adopted unanimously

Outgoing Uachtaran, Matt Coughlan, in his address to the meeting, paid tribute to the outgoing officers, players and team managements for their loyalty and hard work. He said that the Club was up there with the best and that an all-out effort should be made in 2016 to capture Intermediate honours. As his three-year term as Uachtaran was completed, he wanted to thank the members for affording him that honour.


Uachtaran: Michael McEldowney. Leas-uachtarain: Andrew O’Dea, Nicholas Hickey, Tom Monaghan, Michael O’Keeffe. Pat Fenton, Eddie O’Connor.

Cathaoirleach: Dave Roche. Leas-chathaoirleach: Pa Walsh.

Cisteoir: Willie Duggan. Cisteoir Cunta: Barry O’Connor.

Runai: Joe Sherlock. Runai Cunta: Peter Watson.

Claraitheoir: Liam O’Sullivan.

Oifigeach Cultura agus Teangan: Jason Walsh.

Teachtai Choiste Chontae : Tony McCarthy & Pat Fenton.

Oifigeach Chaidreamh Poibli; Nicholas Hickey.


Minor C hurling and football.

Under 21B hurling and football.

Junior B hurling and football.

Intermediate hurling and football.


Minor hurling: Willie Duggan.

Minor football: Tom P. Murphy, Stevie Kent and John McCarthy.

Under 21 hurling and football: Dave Kelly, John Gallagher, Finbarr Stapleton.

Junior B hurling: Pat Fenton, Loughlin McGovern, Mike Monaghan, Jnr.

Intermediate Hurling: Tom Monaghan, Snr., Loughlin McGovern, Mike Monaghan,Jnr, Aiden Gilligan (coach)

Junior and Intermediate Football: Kevin Gallagher, John Fouhy, Kevin O’Farrell, Aiden Gilligan (coach).

We wish our newly-elected Cathaoirleach, Dave Roche a successful term in the chair.


Before the meeting concluded votes of sympathy were passed to the family and relatives of the late Johanna Roche, Ballinahalisk and to the family and relatives of the late John Collins, Duleek, Co. Meath and and formerly of Ballynoe, Kildorrery, on their recent bereavements Ar dheis De go raibh a n-anamacha.


The Avondhu, 10th December 2015