For the second time in less than a week, our Intermediate hurlers were pipped by a single point in the Division 2 league.  The latest was at the home venue last Thursday evening when they went under to Ballincollig on the score of 1-11 to 1-10. 

Kildorrery started well and at the end of the first quarter the sides were level at 0-3 apiece. Three minutes into the second quarter and Kildorrery had edged in front, but they failed to raise a flag again, until the thirtieth minute, by which time the visitors had got through for a goal which put them 1-6  to 0-5 ahead at the short whistle.

After the restart, Kildorrery showed signs of recovery with a more determined approach to the game.  By the end of the third quarter, the goal was the difference between the sides.  With just ten minutes of normal time remaining, Ballincollig had regained their four point advantage.  Again, Kildorrery pulled the game back to the goal difference, before Eamonn O’Connor finished off a great move with a goal, and the sides were level, two minutes from time.  Unfortunately, for Kildorrery they conceded a free, which was converted for the winning point.

Team and scorers:  James McEniry, Cormac O’Baoill, Stevie Coughlan, Niall Kelly, Tom Monaghan 0-1, Michael Walsh, John Howard, James O’Sullivan, William Fouhy 0-2, Eamonn O’Connor 1-0, Peter O’Brien 0-6(0-3fs), Tiernan Condon, Ciaran O’Connor, Finbarr Stapleton 0-1, David Kelly.   Subs. Jerry McCarthy for C.O’Connor, Liam Kelly for F. Stapleton.



 Buttevant’s ten point winning margin is not a  true reflection of Kildorrery’s performance in  this Under 21 B football championship game, played at Kildorrery, on Friday night last week. After a whole-hearted performance in the opening half Kildorrery trailed by just three points at the break 1-1 to 0-7.  They continued to battle against this strong Buttevant side in the second half, but had to settle in the end for second best. 

Team and scorers:  Tony Watson, John Fitzgerald, Searunas Naviniskas, P.J.Keating, Dylan Kent, Liam McGrath 0-1, Ian Butler, Darren McNamara, Shane Walsh, David Harrington, Shane O’Neill 1-2(0-2fs), Tiernan Condon, Padraig Walsh, P.J.Murphy 0-1, Cathal Walsh-O’Grady 0-1.  Sub. Billy Heddigan for P.Walsh.



Sunday April 10th. Intermediate football league V Kinsale at Kinsale 1 p.m.

Cavanagh’s Fermoy Div. 2  football league V Liscarroll at Kildorrery  6.30 p.m.



Congratulations to Sean Keating, Meadstown who was the lucky winner of €500 in the Cork G.A.A. Clubs’ Draw ,last week.



There was no winner of the €4,200, when the Club’s fortnightly lotto draw was held, at Walsh’s Corner House, last Saturday night. The numbers drawn were: 6,11,25 and 28.  Three lucky dip winners  of €50 each were:  1. Mary Lonergan, Scart. 2. Will Thornhill, Oldcastletown.  3. Billy Kelleher, Grange .  The next draw will be held at Sheahan’s Hilltop Lounge on Saturday April 16th when the jackpot will be €4,400.


The Avondhu, 7th April 2016