The dust has settled again, after a terrific week-end of festival activities.  The annual Hillfest attracted huge numbers to the village for the three nights.  Beginning with a Table Quiz in the Old Creamery on Thursday night. On Friday night the Community Hall was the venue for a concert where veteran of ‘Puc ar Buile’, fame, Sean O Se was the star attraction.  There was a full supporting programme of local talent. The programme was enjoyed by a ‘full house’. Of course, the main attraction of the week-end was the ‘ Strictly Kildorrery’ dancing extravaganza in the Festival Dome on Saturday night, where fourteen couples went through their paces for the judges who were:  Tracey McDonald, Rachel Kelly, Denis Butler and Sheriff Martin Hartnett. After a most entertaining and enjoyable display of various forms of dancing the following were the results: Best Entertainment Award. Tara O’Gorman and P.J.Keating (Freestyle). Judges’ Choice Award. Maud O’Sullivan and David Harrington with a Quickstep who were also declared the Overall Winners.   Congratulations to the winners and indeed, to all the participants for a most entertaining programme. Choreographer was Bridget Harte and M.C’s on the night were Tracey McNamara and Fiona Walsh-Clahane. Co-ordinator on the night was Eamonn McCarthy.



Last Thursday evening, our Intermediate footballers travelled to Mayfield where they played the local side in the in the Division 4 league.  Unfortunately, they came out on the losing side on the above score. Team and scorers. Tony Watson, Cormac O’Baoill, P.J.Keating, Fintan Daly, Anthony Crowley, Michael Walsh 1-0, Wm. Fouhy, Shane Fitzgerald 0-1, Dylan Kent 0-1, Cathal Harrington 0-1, Peter O’Brien 0-1 , Jamie O’Gorman 1-1, Tom Monaghan 0-3, Shane O’Neill 0-5(0-3fs), James O’Sullivan 0-3.



Also on Thursday evening, our Minor hurlers were in action in the Division 1 championship when they played Kanturk in Kanturk.  They also suffered defeat on the above score-line.



Thursday July 11th. Division 1 Minor Hurling Championship V Charleville at Kildorrery  8 p.m.

Friday July 12th.  Division 2 Junior Hurling League  playoff V Ballyhea at Doneraile 7.30 p.m.

Saturday July 13th.  Division 4 Intermediate Hurling League V Eire Og at Ovens. Time to be confirmed.



Congratulations  to our two representatives on the Cork Under 20 hurling team which defeated Limerick  last week. James Keating captained the team at full-back while Ian Butler was listed as sub-goalie at  No. 16. We wish them continued success.



Heartiest congratulations to Andrea Ahern, Ballyanihan who was the lucky winner of the Club lotto jackpot of €10,000 when the fortnightly draw was held at Sheahan’s Hilltop Lounge, last Friday night. 

The winning numbers were: 2, 5, 7, 18. Three lucky dip winners were

1. Eileen Kennedy-Finn, Ahacross

2. Tom Cremin, 2. Bearna Deara

3. Eileen Kennedy-Finn, Ahacross

The next draw will be held at Ollie’s Bar on Saturday July 20th when the jackpot will be €1,000.



Last Monday’s weekly Club meeting was adjourned after the reading and adoption of the minutes, as a mark of respect to late Rory Ahern, Ballyshonack, who passed away earlier in the day. A vote of sympathy was extended to his, wife family and relatives.  Ar dheis de go raibh a anam.


The Avondhu, 11th July 2019