Last Saturday evening at Blarney, our Intermediate hurlers went under rather disappointingly to a much sharper Tracton side in the opening round of the Championship.  The final score-line was Kildorrery 1-16 Tracton 0-25. A disappointing feature of this game was the number of frees conceded by our team which were punished by the accurate Tracton free-taker.  Seventeen frees, twelve of which were converted. Despite playing well below their true capability, and against the fresh breeze in the first half, Kildorrery were just two points in arrears 0-8 to 0-10 at the break.  

After the restart, Tracton increased their lead with three points, two of which were from placed balls, inside four minutes, before Finbarr Stapleton sent over two for Kildorrrery in quick succession. Points from James Keating, Peter O’Brien (free), Shane O’Neill and Dylan Kent left them trailing 0-14 to 0-16 at the end of the third quarter. Before Kildorrery had their next score, a point from a Peter O’Brien free followed by one from play by James Keating, the winners had extended their tally to nineteen. Just three points between the sides with just under ten minutes of normal time remaining.  However, it was the winners who forged ahead drawing our players into the concession of frees, six in total and all of which were converted. In a late do-or–die effort Kildorrery forced a free which Sean Keating sent to the back of the net for a consolation goal.

Team and scorers:  Ian Butler, Tom Monaghan, Shane Fitzgerald, Cormac O’Baoill, John Hunter, Michael Walsh, Sean Kelly, James O’Sullivan 0-1, Jerry McCarthy, Finbarr Stapleton 0-3, Peter O'Brien 0-6fs, Dylan Kent 0-1, James Keating 1-2(1-0f), Shane O’Neill 0-2, James McEniry 0-1.  Subs. Wm.Fouhy for J.McCarthy. Jamie O’Gorman for J.O’Sullivan.



On Sunday afternoon, with home advantage, our Minor 3 footballers scored an easy and deserved win over this Duhallow combination in this first- round thirteen-a-side championship game.  From the start, our boys never looked in trouble building up a half-time lead of 2-7 to 0-3. They continued in the same manner in the second half running out deserving winners on the above score.

Team and scorers;  Darren Caplice, Conor Kent, Declan Mullins, Richie Hurley, Mattie Walsh-O’Grady, David Hunter, Pierce Pigott 0-2, Timmy O’Sullivan 1-2, Sean Watson 1-4, Sean Cunningham 1-4(0-1f), Kieran Hurley 0-2, Cathal O’Sullivan 1-1, Padraig O’Flynn 0-1. Subs. Padraig Harrington for P.O’Flynn. P. O’Flynn for Cathal O’Sullivan. C.O’Sullivan for C.Kent.



Saturday May 11th.  Minor 3  Football League V St Vincents’ at St Vincents’  7.15 p.m.

Sunday May 12th. Div. 4 Intermediate football League  V Glenville at Kildorrery 11 a.m.



Congratulations to our two local lady footballers Sally McCarthy and Aine Keating who were part of the Cork Ladies Minor team which defeated Kerry in the Munster Final at Killarney last Monday. Well done, girls!   



The Club’s fortnightly lotto draw for a jackpot of €9,200 will take place at Walsh’s Corner House, this Saturday night May 11th.

The Avondhu, 9th May 2019