Our Intermediate footballers went under to Knocknagree in the preliminary round of the championship at Kilbrin, last Saturday evening.  Last year’s All-Ireland junior champions ran out deserving winners on the final score-line of 1-13 to 0-7.

The strong wind blowing diagonally across the pitch made conditions difficult.  Playing with the aid of the wind from the throw-in, Knocknagree had three points on the board before Michael Walsh opened Kildorrery’s account in the sixth minute, after great work by Darren McNamara.  Finbarr Stapleton had another point just before the end of the first quarter, which proved to be their last score of the first half, while the winners went on to go in at the break leading by eleven points, 1-10 to 0-2.

While we expected to see our boys availing of the strong wind after the re-start, it was Knocknagree who continued where they left off with two points inside five minutes.  Shane O’Neill got KIldorrery going with a point but a series of wides cost us many scores while the winners added two more points to their tally before Michael Walsh had a point at the end of the third quarter to leave us trailing 0-4 to 1-13.  Inside the last quarter we had three more points, one each from James O’Sullivan, Shane O’Neill and Finbarr Stapleton. A number of scoring opportunities went a–begging during this last period bringing our total of wides for the second half to eleven.  Nevertheless, we are still in the championship race and look forward to a better performance in the next round.

Team and scorers:  Liam Kelly, Sean Kelly Cormac O’Baoill, P.J.Keating, Wm.Fouhy, Michael Walsh 0-2, Darren McNamara, Shane Fitzgerald, Dylan Kent, Jamie O’Gorman, Peter O’Brien,  Finbarr Stapleton 0-2, Richie McEniry, Shane O’Neill 0-2(0-1f), James O’Sullivan 0-1. Subs. Tom Monaghan for S. Kelly (h/t). Stevie Coughlan for D.Kent (35 mins). Cathal Harrington for R.McEniry (50 mins).



On Sunday afternoon last, our Junior hurlers travelled to Ballyclough  where they scored a deserved victory over the home side in the Division 2 league.  Kildorrery led from the throw-in and at half time were 2-4 to 0-7 ahead. They continued to dominate proceedings in the second period running out worthy winners on the above score-line.

Team and scorers:  Dave Roche, Jason Walsh, Will Coffey, Tony Watson, Darren McNamara 1-0, Michael Lillis, John Hunter, Jerry McCarthy 0-1, James Magnier 0-4, Richie Hurley 1-0, Tiernan Condon 0-3, Michael Caplice, Cathal Walsh-O’Grady, Liam O’Keeffe, David Kelly 1-7(1-0 65, 0-4fs).   Subs. David Hunter for C. Walsh-O’Grady, James Fox for M.Caplice,



Sunday next April 21st.  Intermediate Hurling league V Aghabullogue at Coachford 12 noon.



The Club lotto jackpot of €8,800 was not won when the fortnightly draw took place at Sheahan’s Hilltop Lounge, last Saturday night.  

The numbers drawn were: 11, 20, 22, 23. Three lucky dip winners of €5O each were:

1. Steve Kent Knockanevin

2. Emer O’Connor, Farahy

3. Tom Thornhill, Oldcastletown

The next draw will be held at Ollie’s Bar on Saturday April 27th.  when  the jackpot will be €9,000.



At last Monday’s Club meeting  votes of sympathy were passed to the following: the wife, family and relatives of the late Tony Sherlock, Mitchelstown and formerly of Oldcastletown; the husband, family and relatives of the late Sheila Gammell (nee Hennessy), Kilmallock and formerly of Knockanevin; Niall Barry and family, Drough; the Harrington family Doneraile on their recent bereavements. Ar dheis De go raibh anamacha na marbh.


The Avondhu, 18th April 2019