Team mentors were just able to muster fifteen players for this Division 2 league game, at the home venue, last Saturday afternoon, as a number of eligible players were not available.

For the second time in two weeks the appointed referee did not turn up at the appointed time of 2.45.p.m. However, he (Alec Morrissey) did arrive at 3.30 p.m. for 3.45 p.m. start as per his notification from the Board. By this time, the first half had been played with a Kilshannig clubman refereeing. The appointed referee took over for the second half. 

Kildorrery were first to score with a point per James Fox, after less than thirty seconds, but this was to be their only score until just on the stroke of half-time when Sean Young pointed a free. While Kildorrery, to a man, tried hard, they could not match the hurling of their opponents who are competing in the Junior A championship. At the break the visitors led 1-8 to 0-2. After the restart, the winners took up where they left off and at the three-quarter mark had added five points to their tally and went on to run out deserving winners on the above score.

Team and scorers: Louglin McGovern, Dave Roche, Tim Crowley, Niall Kelly, Willie Coffey, John Howard, John Fitzgerald, Sean O’Sullivan, Eugene Sweeney, Richie Lillis, Tiernan Condon, Shane Landers, James Fox 0-1, Sean Walsh, Sean Young 0-1f.



This was the disappointing result of the Division 2 intermediate hurling league game hosted by Kildorrery,  last Sunday afternoon. The game, which  was played in difficult weather and ground conditions, never reached any great heights.  Kildorrery, who were without the following injured players, Peter O’Brien, Finbarr Stapleton, William Fouhy and David Kelly, played their best hurling in the first half and led at the interval 0-6 to 0-5. However, they failed to raise a flag, in the second half while the visitors added seven points to their tally.

Team and scorers:  James McEniry, Niall Kelly, Shane Fitzgerald, Sean Kelly, Tom Monaghan, Michael Walsh, John Howard, Jerry McCarthy, James O’Sullivan  0-1, Cormac O’Baoill Andrew O’Brien 0-3fs, Stevie Coughlan 0-1, Ciaran O’Connor, Eamonn O’Connor 0-1, Richie Lillis.  Subs. Willie Coffey for C O’Connor, Dylan Kent for R.Lillis.



Friday March 11th. Cavanagh’s Fermoy Div 2 football league V Glanworth at Kildorrery  8 p.m.

Sunday March 13th. Under 21B football league V Blackwater Rovers (venue and time to be confirmed).



The Club lotto jackpot was not won, when the fortnightly draw took place at Sheahan’s Hilltop Lounge, last Saturday night.

The numbers drawn were: 9, 11, 14, & 23.  

Three winners of €50 each were:  1. Siobhan Faherty, c/o Ned Dwane.  2. Ciara Gill, c/o Tom Fox.  3. Margaret Fogarty, Kilphelan.  

The next draw will be held at Ollie’s Bar on Saturday March 19th,  when the jackpot will be €4,000.



Congratulations to Willie Duggan, team Manager and team and especially, the Kildorrery players, on the Mitchelstown C.B.S. football team who were crowned Munster champions when they defeated Miltown at Rathkeale last Saturday.  

We wish them the best of luck in the All-Ireland semi-final.



At last Monday’s Club meeting, a vote of sympathy was passed to Mrs Maria McInerney (retired N.T.) on the death of her nephew.

Ar dheis De go raih a anam.


The Avondhu, 10th March 2016