Last Saturday afternoon, at rain and wind-swept Carrigtwohill, our Under 21B hurlers recorded a well-deserved and convincing victory over Ballygarvan in the Co. Championship semi-final.  The final score was Kildorrery 1-16.  Ballygarvan 0-6. In the opening quarter, Ballygarvan looked to be the slightly better side and by the seventeenth minute had set up a 0-3 to 0-1 lead. However, Kildorrery took a grip on the game and great work by Kildorrery’s defence stymied their opponents’ attacks and set up great scoring chances for our forwards. By the twentieth minute a succession of points from play saw them set up a lead of 0-5 to 0-3 and two Dylan Kent points inside the last five minutes of the half saw them lead 0-7 to 0-3 at the interval.

Inside six minutes of the second half, Cathal Harrington had added 1-1 to the Kildorrery tally and the losers had to wait until the ninth minute for their first score of the second half, from a free and they raised no more flags until the last five minutes of the half when they had two more points, while a rampant Kildorrery side sent over eight points.  A feature of Kildorrery ‘s performance on the day, in contrast to previous games, was that all but four points came from play and from no less than nine individual players.

A terrific performance from this spirited team and tribute to their mentors, who were afforded the luxury of giving some of the subs a run in the second half. We look forward with optimism to the Co. Final against Sarsfields, which has been provisionally fixed for Saturday  November 3rd. at PaircUi Rinn.  

Team and scorers:  Cathal Walsh-O’Grady, Mattie Walsh-O’Grady, Ian Butler, Tony Watson, Anthony Crowley, James Keating 0-4(0-3fs), John Hunter, Darren McNamara 0-2, P.J.Keating 0-1, Shane O’Neill 0-1, Dylan Kent 0-2, Kevin Noonan 0-1, Cathal Harrington 1-3(0-1f),  Paddy Pigott 0-1, Kieran Hurley. Subs. Sean Cunningham for K.Hurley. Richard Hurley for P.Pigott. David Harrington 0-1, for C.Harrington. Paddy Hartnett for D.McNamara. Niall Higgins for I.Butler Inj.



Last Sunday with home advantage, our Junior C hurlers went under disappointingly to Fermoy in the Shreelawn Oil junior C hurling championship by two points. For fifty-eight minutes of this game, Kildorrery led until the point where Fermoy got through for a goal to put them a point ahead. 1-12 to 0-14 and a free deep injury time gave them another point to win on the above score.

Kildorrery played their best hurling in the first half, leading at the end of the first quarter 0-5 to 0-2. But by the interval their lead was down to two,  0-7 to 0-5. The sides exchanged a point in the opening two minutes of the second half and by the end of the third quarter our boys led 0-12 to 0-9. They had added two more points to their tally to Fermoy’s three before the afore-mentioned goal.

Team and scorers:  Dave Roche, Jason Walsh, Will Coffey, Ciaran O’Connor, Fintan Daly, Liam Kelly, Michael Lillis, David Kelly 0-6(0-5fs), Darren McNamara, Shane Landers 0-2, Sean O’Sullivan, James Magnier, Sean Young 0-5 (0-4fs), Liam O’Keeffe, Anthony Palmer.                Subs. John Hunter for A.Palmer.Billy Hedigan for D.McNamara. Cathal Walsh-O’Grady for S.Young.



The Club lotto jackpot of €6,200 was not won when the fortnightly draw was  held at Walsh’s Corner House, last Saturday night.

The numbers drawn were: 7,12,17 & 25. Three lucky dip winners of €50 each were:

1. Seamus Hennessy, Springvale

2. Rob Roche, Kilworth

3. Emmet Kelly & Ben Yelverton, Farahy.

The next draw will be held at Sheahan’s Hilltop Lounge, on Saturday October 27th. when the jackpot will be €6,400.



A reminder to promoters and members of the draw that subscriptions are now due for the new draw series which commences with the September/October draws which take place on Friday November 2nd.  Subscriptions will be accepted in G.A.A. Hall next Monday October 22nd. from 8.30 p.m.   Promoters are asked to endeavour to have subscriptions collected as soon as possible.



Following the reading and adoption of the minutes, last Monday’s Club meeting was adjourned as a mark of respect to the family and relatives of the late Eddie Fraher, Tooreigh, Knockanevin. Sympathy was also extended to the family of the late Mrs Margaret Casey, O’Neill-Casey Terrace, Mitchelstown.  Ar dheis de go raibh anamacha na Marbh.


The Avondhu, 18th October 2018