Kildorrery bridged a 35 year gap when becoming crowned North Cork Junior B2 football champions last Sunday beating Buttevant on a scoreline of 4-17 0-04 in Castletownroche. With 8 of the starting team over 30 their experience showed throughout with the team (excellently managed throughout the year by John Gallagher and Mike Kent) starting brightly and never letting up throughout leading at half time 3-09 0-01 with goals from Andrew O’Brien, John McCarthy and man of the match James Magner. Kildorrery worked hard throughout in defence ably led by Tom Paul Murphy and Jerry McCarthy down the middle with John McCarthy rolling back the years during the first half with some fine scores and with Darren McNamara, Jason Walsh, James Fox and Shane Walsh running hard down the wings.

The second half saw more of the same with a 4th goal added by Andrew with the returning David Kelly getting the biggest cheer upon his introduction with further scores from James Magner, Eugene Sweeney, Jerry McCarthy and David Harrington along with giving the rest of the lads game time.

A late penalty save by Chairman Dave Roche added further cheer and afterwards the cup was presented to Kildorrery captain Will Coffey and led to jubilant celebrations for a well-deserved win for this bunch of players.

Team and scorers: Dave Roche, Ciaran O’Connor, Tom Paul Murphy, Will Coffey, Michael Lillis, Jerry McCarthy (0-1), Jason Walsh, Liam O’Keeffe, Darren McNamara, James Fox, John McCarthy (1-3), Shane Walsh, Shane Landers, Andrew O’Brien (2-6), James Magner (1-4)

Subs: David Kelly (0-1) for John McCarthy, Eugene Sweeney (0-1) for Darren McNamara, David Harrington (0-1) for James Fox, Anthony Palmer for Jason Walsh, Billy Hedigan for Shane Walsh, Cathal Walsh O’Grady for James Magner. Other panel member: Paddy Hartnett.



Our minor footballers came up short against Clyda Rovers last Thursday in the Minor B1 football championship final on a scoreline of 3-14 1-09. The lads battled hard throughout against a strong Clyda team who led at half time 2-07 to 0-07. The club wishes to thank all the players and management team of Johnny McCarthy, Jeremiah Ahern and David Kelly for their hard work during the year and best wishes for the future. Keep at it lads!

Team: Darren Caplice, Niall Higgins, Mattie Walsh O’Grady, Paddy Hartnett, David Hunter, Kevin Noonan, Richie Hurley, Anthony Crowley, Paddy Pigott, Timmy O’Sullivan, Cathal Harrington, Kieran Hurley, Sean Watson, Pierce Pigott, Sean Cunningham.

Subs: Michael Caplice for Sean Cunningham (Injured) Emmet Slattery for Richie Hurley. Cathal O’Sullivan and Padraig O’Flynn other subs.



The €6,000 jackpot was not won last Saturday night in Ollies.

Winners of lucky dip of €50 each were:

1. Tony McCarthy, Ballyvistee

2. Diarmuid Murphy, Scart

3. Agnes Hanley, Tankardstown.

The next draw will take place on Saturday 13th October in Walshs with jackpot €6,200.



North Cork u21B hurling championship final v Ballyhea Thursday 4th October 8pm in Mourneabbey

Junior C hurling championship v Fermoy Friday 5th October 8:15pm in Kildorrery (Provisional).



Last Monday night’s meeting was adjourned as a mark of respect to our long serving club PRO Nicholas Hickey on the passing of his sister Margaret Power. Votes of sympathy were also passed at the meeting to the Sheahan family, Main St. and O’Keeffe family, Ballylough.


The Avondhu, 4th October 2018