KIDORRERY 0-09  Glanmire 0-08

On last Saturday evening at Fermoy, our Intermediate footballers survived a second half Glanmire rally to emerge victorious in the opening round of the Co. championship on the score 0-9 to 0-8.  Played in blustery conditions, the game never reached any great heights, but in the end it’s the result that is important.

Kildorrery lined out without nine of the side defeated by Kanturk in last year’s semi-final and faced into the wind in the opening half. Despite this disadvantage, however, they led three points to nil before , Glanmire had their first score in the eighteenth minute. Jamie O’Gorman made it 0-4 to 0-1 three minutes later and Richie McEniry got Kildorrery’s fifth and last point of the half, while Glanmire added two to their tally to leave them trailing 0-3 to 0-5 at the break.

After the restart, Kildorrery seemed to struggle to contain their opponents and by the end of nine minutes of the half, Glanmire had drawn level. However, Kildorrery suddenly sparked into life and replied with two great points, one each from substitute Sean O’Sullivan and Shane O’Neill.  But their lead appeared to be short-lived when Glanmire were awarded a penalty. Inexplicably and to Kildorrery’s relief, the penalty taker sent the ball over the bar, leaving them ahead by the minimum. Two quick Glanmire points had them eight points to seven ahead with just three minutes of normal time remaining. But, don’t write off Kildorrery!  In the 30th minute full-back Eamonn O’Connor in a determined sally up-field sent over a great point to level matters again. It now looked as if extra time was on the cards, but Shane O’Neill had different ideas when he kicked the magnificent winning point deep in injury time.

Team and scorers: Liam Kelly, Ian Butler, Eamonn O’Connor 0-1, Liam McGrath, Will Fouhy, Cormac O’Baoill, P.J.Keating, Peter O’Brien, Shane Fitzgerald, Jamie O’Gorman 0-1, Shane O’Neill 0-2, Dylan Kent 0-1, James McEniry 0-1f,  Richie McEniry 0-2, Stevie Coughlan. Subs. Sean O’Sullivan 0-1, for R.McEniry (inj). Tom Monaghan for Stevie Coughlan.



There was no winner of the €3,600 jackpot when the Club’s fortnightly lotto draw took place at Ollie’s Bar, last Saturday night.  

The numbers drawn were: 3, 13, 15, and 19. Three lucky dip winners of €50 each were:

1. Will Fouhy, Meadstown

2. Elaine Hanley, Quitrent

3. Seamus Hennessy, Springvale

The next draw will be held at Walsh’s Corner House on Saturday April 28th. when the jackpot will be €3,800.



Forced to line out without Kevin Noonan, Paddy Hartnett, Sean Watson and Emmet Slattery, our Minor B1 Hurlers recovered from a rather hesitant start to score a resounding league win over this Millstreet/Dromtarriffe combination, at the home venue, on Thursday evening, last week.  This proved to be a keenly contested game producing an entertaining brand of hurling. After only twelve minutes of the opening half the visitors led by six points, 0-8 to 0-2. However, a great determined effort in the second quarter saw our boys claw their way back into the game and at the break, were just two points in arrears, -- 0-8 to 0-10.

After the resumption of play, Kildorrery picked up where they finished the first half and by the end of the third quarter, thanks to scores from play and placed balls, mainly by Cathal Harrington, the sides were level. In the twentieth minute, the same player blasted a 30 metre free to the back o the Gaels’ net, to give Kildorrery the lead for the first time in the game. This seemed to somehow, deflate the opposition and from there to the end it was all Kildorrery and they ran out deserving winners on the above score.   Full marks to each and every one of our players for a great display of spirit and determination.

Team and scorers:  Fionan Walsh-O’Grady, Richard Hurley, Mattie Walsh-O’Grady, Niall Higgins, Dylan McSweeney, Anthony Crowley, David Hunter 0-1, Paddy Pigott, Michael Caplice 0-1, Kieran Hurley 0-1, Cathal Harrington 1-13 (1-6fs, 0-2. 65s), Tim O’Sullivan, Pierce Pigott, Eddie O’Regan, Sean Cunningham.  Sub. Conor Kent.



Our junior B footballers travelled to Ballyhooly last Sunday morning to play the local side in the Division 2 league.  For this game Kildorrery had difficulty in fielding a team and as the score-line indicates were well beaten by a strong Ballyhooly first team.  Full marks to those players who came out of ‘retirement’ to play.

Team and scorers: Tony Watson, Stevie Kent, Luke O’Baoill, Anthony Palmer, John Hennessy, Fintan Daly, James Magnier 0-1, Tiernan Condon, Liam O’Keeffe 0-1, James Fox, Dave Roche 0-2, Eugene Sweeney, David Harrington, Sean Kelly, Billy Hedigan.  Sub. Cathal Harrington for E. Sweeney.



Thursday April 19th.  Minor B1 hurling league V Ballycastle Gaels at Castletownroche  7 p.m.

Saturday April 21st. Division 3 junior hurling league V Ballygiblin at Kildorrery  7.30 p.m.

Sunday April 22nd.  Division 3 Intermediate hurling league V Blackrock at Church Road 12.noon.

Wednesday April 25th. Division 3 junior hurling league V Harbour Rovers at Glanworth 7 p.m.



Our Club has been chosen to host the Cork G.A.A. Clubs’ draw for the month of April which takes place on Thursday night of next week April 26th.


The Avondhu, 19th April 2018