There was a large and enthusiastic gathering of members at the Annual General Meeting of the Club, when it was held in the Club Hall, last Friday night.  Cathaoirleach, Dave Roche who presided welcomed the attendance and expressed his pleasure at the obvious interest  being shown in the meeting.  In the course of his address, he complimented all players who had worn the Club colours in the various championships and leagues during the year. He mentioned particularly, our two minor players, James Keating and Ian Butler who had earned their places on the Cork Minor Hurling panels.  While the team had failed in their bid for All-Ireland honours, James had the honour of being selected on the Minor All-Star hurling team of the year.  While no major honours had been won by the Club, nevertheless, it had been a busy and reasonably satisfactory year.  He referred to the blessing and official opening of the Stand as a memorable highlight of 2017.  In conclusion, he thanked his fellow officers, members of the various sub-committees, Avondhu and Co. Board delegates,  team managers, selectors, physios and all who had helped in the running of the Club  during the year and said he was looking forward to a successful year ahead.

A very detailed report, submitted by outgoing Runai, Joe Sherlock covered all aspects of the Club’s activities during 2017. The report recalled that our Intermediate hurlers had been defeated by eventual Co. champions, Aghada while the footballers had gone under in the championship semi-final to eventual winners, Kanturk.  The total league and championship games played by the various teams during the year had been just over sixty. The report made special mention of the Ecumenical Blessing and official opening, by Uachtaran Cumann Luthcleas Gael, Aodhgan O Fearaoil , of the Club’s 350-seater stand.

An Runai expressed his disappointment at the “ alarmingly slow response”  to our players’ insurance claims some of which date back to 2014.  During the year, a lot of maintenance work was carried out on the grounds, such as fence repairs and the up-grading of Ball Stop netting behind the goals.  

He recorded his appreciation of the generous support forthcoming for all Club fund-raisers  and mentioned in particular, the generosity of Club members, Tom Jackson and Cheryl O’Brien who sponsored a Limousin Heifer and a Vendeen Sheep, respectively,  and  a tonne of Southern Milling Feed, courtesy Denis Fitzgerald, for a raffle, early in the year.  The venture was a huge financial success.

He concluded his report by extending his thanks to his fellow officers for their help and co-operation during his six years in office.  He did not seek re-election.

Outgoing Cisteoir, Willie Duggan presented a very elaborate report on the Club’s finances which showed a huge turn-over, obviously generated by the construction of the new stand. Once again, the usual sources of income were well up to standard, reflecting the generous support which the Club enjoys and for which it is most grateful.  He thanked all the members of the various fund-raising sub-committees and made special mention of Cisteoir Cunta, Barry O’Connor for his invaluable assistance, during the year.

Club Uachtaran, Michael McEldowney, addressing the meeting, complimented the officers and members for the expert manner in which the club is run.  He paid tribute to the players and team mentors for their loyalty and dedication and said that while no major honours had been won that the teams had acquitted themselves well and could look forward with confidence to the year ahead.

Juvenile Club Cathaoirleach, John Finn, also addressed the meeting.

Election of Officers:

Uachtaran: Michael McEldwney. Leas-uachtarain:  Andrew O’Dea, Tom Monaghan, Nicholas Hickey, Michael O’Keeffe, Pat Fenton, Eddie O’Connor. Tom Fox.

Cathaoirleach: Dave Roche. Leas Cathaoirleach :  Pa Walsh.

Cisteoir: Willie Duggan. Cisteoir Cunta:  Barry O’Connor.

Runai: James Fox. Runai Cunta: Joe Sherlock.

Claraitheoir: Liam O’Sullivan.

Oifigigh Arachais: Ned Dwane & Peter O’Brien.

Oifigeach Cultura agus Teangan: Jason Walsh.

Teachtai Choiste Chorcai: Tony McCarthy and Pat Fenton.

Teachta Choiste Chorcai Thuaidh: Tom Fox.

Oifigeach Chaidrimh Poibli: Nicholas Hickey.

Teams Affiliated: Minor B Hurling and Football.

Under 21 B Hurling and Football.

JuniorB Hurling and Football.

Intermediate Hurling and Football.

Team Management:

Minor Hurling: Peter Watson, Willie Duggan, Richard Hurley.

Minor Football: Johnny McCarthy, David Kelly, jnr. Jeremiah Aherne.

U 21 Hurling: Peter O’Brien, Willie Duggan, Dave Roche.

U 21 Football: Stevie Kent Brian McNamara and Brendan Hannon.

Junior B Football: John Gallagher  A.N.Other.

Junior B Hurling: To be appointed.

Intermediate Hurling: Tom Jackson, Denis Fitzgerald. Denis Walsh (coach)

Intermediate Football: Tony McCarthy, Pa Walsh. Denis Walsh (coach)


The Club was recently presented with cheque for €700 by the Kildorrery Drama Group after their very successful pre-Christmas presentation of “Second Honeymoon”. A very generous gesture which is greatly appreciated.



The next fortnightly Club lotto draw will take place at Ollie’s Bar, this Saturday night, when the jackpot will be €2,400.



If there is any potential referee out there, in the Club’s catchment area, who would like to take  up the job, he should hand in his name to Runai James Fox  087 9523474. ASAP.



The next meeting, the first of 2018 will be held on Monday February 5th.


The Avondhu, 18th January 2018