Kildorrery progressed to the Cork JAHC semi-final following a thrilling win over Carrignavar at Ballyhooly last evening.
The first-half saw Kildorrery, aided by the wind, start at a blistering pace with Michael Walsh, Dave Kelly, Eamon O’Connor and the O’Brien brothers surging forward at every opportunity.

At the end of the first quarter the Avondhu champions were full value for their 0-7 to 0-1 lead. As the half progressed Carrignavar gradually settled with Con Burns dropping back as a seventh defender in an attempt to crowd out the threat imposed by Kildorrery’s top marksman Peter O’Brien.

The Imokilly side improved greatly with key players Ronan Spillane, Paul Murphy and Paul O’Keeffe chipping in with some fine scores that cut the deficit 0-8 to 0-6 by the 24th minute. In the closing stages of the half, Sean Kelly and Paul Murphy traded points that left two between the teams at the break.

On the changeover the game came to life. Carrignavar edged in front when Ronan Spillane goaled in the 33rd minute. However, the lead was short lived with Peter O’Brien pointing three frees in quick succession before Eamon O’Connor produced a great goal in the 40th minute to make it 1-12 to 1-8. Carrignavar threw caution to the wind with Timmy Geaney, John O’Sullivan, Ronan Spillane, Aaron Dorgan, Con Burns and Paul O’Keeffe featuring strongly and by the 48th minute only a point separated the sides (1-13 to 1-12). With a draw on the cards both teams upped gears. Kildorrery, with Shane Fitzgerald and Michael Lillis impressive in the backline moved into a three point lead when Dave Kelly and Peter O’Brien had points but back came a gallant Carrignavar side with Ronan Spillane and Con Burns having late points. But they were unable to force parity.

Scorers for Kildorrery: P O’Brien 0-8 (0-5f), D Kelly 0-4, E O’Connor 1-1, A O’Brien, S Kelly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Carrignavar: R Spillane 1-6 (0-5f, 0-1 ‘65’) P Murphy 0-4, C Burns, P O’Keeffe 0-2 each,

KILDORRERY: J McEniry, L Kelly, S Fitzgerald, C O’Baoil, T Monaghan, M Lillis, A O’Brien, J McCarthy, M Walsh, E O’Connor, P O’Brien, S Kelly, D Kelly, R McEniry, F Stapleton.

Sub: W Fouhy for J McCarthy (inj).

CARRIGNAVAR: C Dorgan, B Hegarty, D O’Driscoll, D Coleman, T Geaney, C O’Reilly, T Neally, R Mullins, B Murphy, A Hegarty, P O’Keeffe, C Burns, A Dorgan, P Murphy, R Spillane.

Subs: P Geaney for T Neally, J O’Sullivan for B Murphy, S Horgan for C O’Reilly (inj) A Sheehan for P Murphy,

Referee: Brian Coniry (Crosshaven)