At Castletownroche, last Sunday afternoon, our U21 B footballers scored a decisive victory over a strong Buttevant side to capture the North Cork O'Sullivan and Lewis sponsored championship. The final scoreline read Kildorrery 3-9 Buttevant 0-8. 
This was a particularly sweet victory as their opponents had defeated them by 3 goals at the same stage of the championship in 2011 and had fourteen of that team still eligible. Playing into the stiff breeze in the opening moiety, Kildorrery took the game to their opponents, forcing an early free which David Kelly expertly converted.
The 2012 U21 B North Cork Football ChampionsButtevant replied immediately with a like score. Exchanges were tough and uncompromising throughout this first half and by the end of the quarter Kildorrery had edged in front per a seond David Kelly free. Despite a number of poor finishes, Buttevant did manage to go 0-5 to 0-2 ahead by the end of normal time. However, William Fouhy, with great anticipation, ran onto the end of a fine movement and sent over a great point and at the interval, Kildorrery trailed by just two points and the prospect of the wind in their favour for the second half. 
In this first half, Kildorrery's defence was outstanding in sustaining Buttevant presure, with Michael Lillis, Liam McGrath and Cormac O' Baoill prominent.
After the restart Buttevant were first to score from a placed ball. But then came what was perhaps, the turning point of the game, when James McEniry, having two minutes earlier forced a great save from the Buttevant goalie, got through for the first of his brace of goals in the 36th minute. Three minutes later he raised his second green flag in between two fine points from David Kelly. Two more points from James McEniry, who was to be voted man of the match, and at the three quarter way mark, Kildorrery were well in control 2-7 to 0-6 ahead.
Kildorrery were now rampant and winning in most sectors. At midfield, Shane Walsh had come more into the game, as had Stephen Guerin and Fintan Daly, all determined not to let this one slip from their grasp. Inside the last five minutes of normal time, the sides exchanged a point. Into injury time another Kildorrer attack yielded a free which David Kelly sent unnervingly over the bar. Two minutes later, a powerful incisive run from 50 yards out by James O'Sullivan, saw him finish superbly to the Buttevant net for Kildorrery's third goal. The losers did have a point with the last kick of the game, but it only served as a consolation score. Captain David Kelly and Sean O'Sullivan (injured in semi-final) accepting the cup
This was a tremendous spirited performance by each and every player from James Dwane in goal whose kick-outs were huge, even into the breeze, to Robert Coughlan at corner forward. Seven of the panel are still in minor grade. 
They are to be commended on a brilliant performance. Congratulations also to team manager, John Gallagher, and selectors, David Kelly, Pa Walsh and Tom Lane and of course physio, Caroline Coughlan.
Team and scorers: James Dwane, Liam McGrath, Michael Lillis, Fintan Daly, Stephen Guerin, Cormac O' Baoill, Niall Kelly, William Fouhy (0-1), Shane Walsh, Anthony Palmer, James O'Sullivan (1-0), Finbarr Stapleton, James McEniry (2-3), David Kelly (0-5), Rober Coughlan. Subs: Shane Landers for A Palmer (58 mins). Others: David Sweeney, Sean O'Regan, Sean O'Sullivan (injured in semi-final).
Kildorrery 2-3 St Nicks 1-14
Our intermediate footballers travelled to the city venue, last Sunday evening for this division 3 league game with St. Nicks.
Kildorrery travelled to this game without some of their regulars and were forced to play David Kelly, James McEniry and Cormac O' Baoill of the U21 team which had played the previous day. Having trailed 1-8 to 1-0 at the interval, they found scores hard to get in the second half, only succeeding to add 1-3 to their tally. The home side, on the other hand, added six points to theirs to maintain their 8 point advantage.
Team and scorers: David Roche, John Howard, Tom Paul Murphy, John Cremin, Sean Kelly, Peter O'Brien, Liam Kelly, Eamonn O'Connor (0-1), Richie McEniry, David Aherne, Tom Monaghan (2-2), John McCarthy, David Kelly, Sean Walsh, James McEniry. Sub: Cormac O' Baoill for S Walsh.